Crocodile Bird

Grey winged, white chested, black masked and crowned,
the Egyptian Plover is a beautiful bird;
what enchants me most is not its feathers
but rather the way it lives its life.

The small bird cleans crocodiles to feed itself,
pecking parasites off their backs,
rumored to even pick out the meat scraps
left behind between the beasts teeth.

When I feel alone I often wonder
why it is that none will approach me;
have I never met someone as brave as the plover
or am I more frightening than crocodile jaws?

Leave a Reply

