Polar Bear

There are times I feel like a polar bear
wandering around on a frozen lake;
the surface cracks with every step I take
and I know I will fall through when it breaks.

It does not matter if I can swim,
the waters below are freezing cold
and if I fall in so far from the shore,
I do not know if I could get out again.

Even with paws stretched out as far as they can,
the ice cannot bear my burden,
so I press my whole body against the surface,
anything to distribute the weight.

You cannot spread yourself too thin
when you are walking on thin ice.

Leave a Reply

